Musik & Theater

Matthias und Franz Bartolomey, Fotocredit: Moritz Schell Matthias und Franz Bartolomey, Fotocredit: Moritz Schell

String quintets!
Franz Bartolomey and his musical companions play Mozart and Dvorák

arrow Tickets

For many musical cognoscenti, Mozart’s string quintets represent the pinnacle of his chamber music achievements. Mozart composed a total of seven string quintets, doubling the viola part in each of them, which endowed their minor tonality with a very specific timbre. This quintet, composed in 1787, can be considered a revolutionary piece for Mozart from multiple aspects; it is the first piece of chamber music where we hear his characteristic G minor sound make an appearance. This is music which flows from a place of deep sadness and agonies of doubt. The work is a form of meditation on death, a subject which preoccupied Mozart increasingly from 1787 onwards.

Dvorák’s String Quintet in E flat major suggests the influence of Johannes Brahms in a New World setting. Many echoes of Dvorák’s famous Ninth Symphony are heard here, most notably his lively use of the pentatonic. The musical language which the Czech composer employs in this work is highly romantic .

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quintet in G minor, KV 516
Antonín Dvorák: String Quintet in E flat major, Op. 97

Tickets: Band A €39/ B €35/ C €29; box seats €49; MuTh Student Club, children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Violin: Christoph Koncz
  • Violin: Ben Morrison
  • Viola: Elmar Landerer
  • Viola: Lily Francis
  • Cello: Franz Bartolomey
  1. May 2021

    Singin‘ in the MuTh 4
    Singin‘ in the MuTh

    • Singin´ in the MuTh

    Masterpieces for clarinet and bassoon
    Spotlight on the clarinet / Daniel Ottensamer in the MuTh

    • Im Zentrum die Klarinette

    Butcaru & Steude
    Works by Bartók, Enescu, Szymanovski and Brahms

    • Im Zentrum die Geige 1

    Passion and courage
    Spotlight on the clarinet / Matthias Schorn in the MuTh

    • Im Zentrum die Klarinette
  2. June 2021

    New Piano Trio: I <3 Pop
    Eine Liebeserklärung