Musik & Theater

A concert without an orchestra
Christian Altenburger at MuTh

* abgespielt

Zoltán Kodály and Werner Pirchner were masters of the art of creating an entire soundworld using just a few instruments. Folklore was an important element for them both – albeit in totally different ways. With its sensuality and rich colours, Ernest Chausson’s large-scale concerto for violin, piano and string quartet is a fascinating piece.

Zoltán Kodaly : Serenade for two violins and viola, Op. 12
Werner Pirchner : From the Concerto for two solo violins without orchestra, PWV 33
Ernest Chausson : Concerto for violin, piano and string quartet in D major, Op. 21

In our 2016/17 season, the Christian Altenburger concerts feature seldom-heard masterpieces from chamber music literature performed in unusual instrumentations. On this occasion Christian Altenburger has chosen chamber music for strings by Zoltán Kodály and Werner Pirchner, together with Beethoven sonatas for piano and violin, and Ernest Chausson’s great concerto for violin, piano and string quartet. There has been a deliberate focus on involving young artists in these concerts, with the twofold aim of exchanging experience and introducing some exceptional new talents to the public. For Christian Altenburger and Markus Schirmer, exploring the Beethoven piano and violin sonatas has been a joint artistic endeavour. This project began at MuTh in the 2015/16 season, and it will continue in the coming season with sonatas Op. 23, Op. 24 and Op. 30/2, supplemented by readings of selected texts.

  • Viola: Lydia Altenburger
  • Violin: Marie Isabel Kropfitsch
  • Violin: Floris Willem
  • Violin: Christian Altenburger
  • Cello: Raphaela Gromes
  • Piano: Julian Riem