Musik & Theater

Foto: Acis Ensemble Foto: Acis-Ensemble

Music for clarinet, viola & piano

The appeal of this concert — apart from the obvious talents of the musicians and composers — lies in the unique timbre of this seldom-heard instrumental grouping. The way the melody lines of the clarinet, viola and piano interact and intertwine, how one line falls away — only to reappear later — is both enchanting and moving.

Mozart’s “Kegelstatt” trio has a wonderful clarity of design, and radiates a great sense of calm. Schumann’s Märchenerzählungen (Fairy Tales) are thoroughly romantic in nature, and are remarkable for their wide tonal palette. And Bruch’s Eight Pieces for Clarinet, Viola, & Piano, which were written for his clarinettist son Max Felix, have much in common with Schumann’s Märchenerzählungen.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Trio in E flat major, KV 489, “Kegelstatt”
Robert Schumann: Märchenerzählungen (Fairy Tales), Op. 132
Max Bruch: Eight Pieces for Clarinet, Viola, & Piano, Op. 83

Tickets: Band A €39/ B €35/ C €29; box seats €49; MuTh Student Club, children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Clarinet: Petra Liedauer
  • Viola: Mathias Maria Reissner
  • Piano: Peter Caelen