Musik & Theater

Atalante Quartett, Fotocredit: Reinhard Winkler Atalante Quartett, Fotocredit:

Atalante Quartet
Next Generation in the MuTh

* abgespielt

For the four musicians who comprise the Atalante Quartet, the string quartet form has become like a second home. They view their playing as a daily search “to blend four separate ideas into a single unified entity”. They are also fascinated by the “unbelievable wealth and variety of outstanding compositions in this genre”. On this, their debut performance in MuTh, they aim to share some of their enthusiasm for Haydn, Mendelssohn and Schumann, all in line with their mantra “Everything should serve the music and the emotions it holds”.

Founded in 2014, the Atalante Quartet is comprised of musicians who studied at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna or the Mozarteum Salzburg University. Highlights of the players’ individual development as chamber musicians include working with members of the Alban Berg Quartet, the Hagen Quartet and the Wiener Streichsextett, as well as Ferenc Rados and Andras Schiff. Working on a regular basis with Johannes Meissl (Artis Quartet) and Hatto Beyerle has proved particularly motivating for the ensemble. In 2018 the quartet was awarded First Prize at the Svirel International Chamber Music Competition in Slovenia as well as Third Prize at the International Johannes Brahms Competition in Pörtschach.

Joseph Haydn: String quartet in D major Op. 76 No. 5
Felix Mendelssohn: String quartet in A minor Op. 13 No. 2
Robert Schumann: String quartet in A minor Op. 41 No. 3

Tickets: Band A €30/ B €27/ C €24; box seats €40; MuTh Club Students, children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9; School groups €7