Musik & Theater

(c) Moritz Schell

Death and the Maiden
Minetti Quartet in the MuTh

* abgespielt

The first concert in this cycle opens with a piece by the “inventor” of the string quartet; Op. 77 No. 2 is the last complete quartet composed by Joseph Haydn. With a total of 15 string quartets to his credit, Shostakovich also merits a special place in this category. His celebrated 7th Quartet is also his shortest. And the second part of the concert includes possibly the most famous string quartet of them all: Schubert’s Quartet in D minor, universally known as “Der Tod und das Mädchen” (Death and the Maiden). Composed in 1824, this work set new standards in terms of sound, instrumentation and form.

Joseph Haydn : String Quartet in F major, Op. 77 No. 2
Dimitri Shostakovich String Quartet no 7 in F sharp minor, Op. 108
Franz Schubert: String Quartet in D minor, D 810, “Der Tod und das Mädchen”

Tickets: Band A €35/ B €30/ C €25; box seats €45
Children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9