Musik & Theater

Foto: Ensemble Gemischter Satz Foto: Ensemble Gemischter Satz

Debut concert
Debut performance of the “Gemischter Satz” (“Blended Vintage”) ensemble / 20th century works

* abgespielt

In their first public performance, the Gemischter Satz ensemble present a selection of 20th century works. Founded this summer, the group perform chamber music in a wide range of formations.

The evening starts with Maurice Ravel’s impressionistic suite “Le Tombeau de Couperin”, arranged here for wind quintet. Ravel is joined by the American composer Samuel Barber, whose work receives two outings this evening. His intensely moving “Adagio for Strings” brought him global fame, and his “Summer Music” has become a staple of wind quintet literature.

However, the centrepiece of the concert comprises two works written for larger, mixed formations. The nonet by Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů was completed shortly before his death. This piece has a sturdy, down-to-earth feel, but still manages to play skilfully with complex rhythms. By way of contrast, the decet by Jean Françaix employs a dance-like blend of delicacy, wit and elegance to spirit the audience into another world.

Maurice Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin (1917), arr. for Wind Quintet
Samuel Barber:  Adagio for Strings, Op. 11 (1939)
Samuel Barber: Summer Music, for Wind Quintet (1956)
Bohuslav Martinů: Nonetto (1959)
Jean Françaix: Dixtuor (1987)

Tickets: €39 / €35/ €29; box seats €49
Children and young people: €20/ €15/ €9
MuTh Student Club: €20 /€15/ €9 – book here !

  • Oboe: Sebastian Breit
  • Flute: Theresa Prem
  • Horn: Wolfgang Lücking
  • Clarinet: Thomas Prrem
  • Bassoon: Thomas Höniger
  • Violin: Daniel Guillen
  • Violin: Maria Prem
  • Viola: Nicolas Montana
  • Cello: Lisa Braun
  • Double bass: Laura Perfler