Musik & Theater

Steude Quartett in The MuTh Steude Quartett, Foto: Moritz Schell

Dvorak – Schulhoff – Verdi
Steude Quartet in the MuTh

* abgespielt

Antonín Dvořák composed sixteen string quartets. His Opus 9 is a very pretty early piece and has a touching slow movement. Being rather bleak in places makes its radiant ending shine all the brighter. Like the Dvořák, Verdi’s only string quartet was composed in 1873. Despite its operatic elements, it had a difficult time in Italy, where this musical form was definitely out of fashion. Today it is considered the only truly significant chamber piece composed in Italy during the 19th century. Milan Šetena, first violin of the Vienna Philharmonic, is a former member of the Schulhoff Quartet. In a tribute to that ensemble, the Steude Quartet also play this evening the Divertimento by Jewish pianist and composer Erwin Schulhoff, which dates from 1914.


Antonín Dvořák: String quartet No. 5 in F minor Op. 9
Erwin Schulhoff: Divertimento
Giuseppe Verdi: String Quartet in E minor
Tickets: Band A €38/ B €33/ C €28; box seats €48; Children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Violin: Volkhard Steude
  • Violin: Holger Grohe
  • Viola: Elmar Landerer
  • Cello: Wolfgang Härtel