Musik & Theater

Johannes Flesichmann, Fotocredit: Moritz Schell

Europe united
Spotlight on the violin 2/ Johannes Fleischmann & Friends in the MuTh

* abgespielt

In his fourth and final concert in the present cycle, Johannes Fleischmann focuses on music’s power to unify. His guests tonight include the Prenk Jakova chamber orchestra, a group of young musicians from Gjakova  in Kosovo making their first appearance on a Vienna stage. Together with Johannes Fleischmann they perform Edvard Grieg’s “Holberg” Suite for String Orchestra and Mozart’s “Sinfonia Concertante” chamber concerto, which also features Mariko Hara Haselsteiner on the violin. This multi-award winning Japanese musician originally played violin. Now she sees it as her mission to generate an enthusiasm in the concert-going public for the warm sound of the larger instrument. The richly emotional symphonic sounds of Felix Mendelssohn’s String Octet bring the evening to a close, and serve as a clarion call for the aspiration underpinning the concert — understanding between nations.

Edvard Grieg: “From Holberg’s Time”, Suite for string orchestra, Op. 40
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante for violin and viola in E flat major, KV 364
Felix Mendelssohn: Octet for four violins, two violas and two cellos, Op. 20

Tickets: Band A €39/ B €35/ C €29; box seats €49; MuTh Student Club, children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Chamber orchestra: Prenk Jakova ensemble
  • Viola: Mariko Hara Haselsteiner
  • Violin: Johannes Fleischmann