Musik & Theater

Four evenings with the Bartolemeys
Shostakovitch / Kreisler / Piazzolla and Jazz

* abgespielt

“Was zählt, ist der Augenblick” (“It’s the moment that counts”) is not only the title of a book on the Viennese musical dynasty, the Bartolomeys; it also provides the title for the cycle which Franz and Matthias Bartolomey have prepared for MuTh.

When it comes to genres, the Bartolomeys sometimes depart from the apparent severity of the classics – a severity which is no more than perceived – and provide compelling evidence that the cello can also create a beguiling symbiosis of sound when paired with the temperamental passions of the Tango Nuevo or the complex spontaneity of Jazz.

As well as highlights for the classical trio or sextet formations, incorporating artists who have been partners of the Bartolomeys for many years, one “truly rad” evening with Österreichs ParadeFernsehkommissarin will lead the classical music tradition in fresh directions, pairing it with the grooves – and at times, even the rock sounds – of the improvisational jazz aesthetic.

Works by Dimitri Shostakovich, Fritz Kreisler, Astor Piazzolla plus Jazz


  • cello: Franz Bartolomey
  • accordion: Christian Bakanic
  • cello: Matthias Bartolomey