Musik & Theater

Steude Quartett in The MuTh Steude Quartett, Foto: Moritz Schell

Haydn – Zemlinsky – Beethoven
Steude Quartet in the MuTh

* abgespielt

Joseph Haydn is considered the father of the classical string quartet. The form was further developed by Alexander von Zemlinsky, who was both a successor to Brahms and a forerunner of Arnold Schönberg, his brother-in-law and student. Beethoven, however, created an entirely different set of standards. His Opus 130 is considered one of the absolute highlights of the quartet literature. Even today it can still astonish an audience, and hold them spellbound and speechless with joy. The Steude Quartet rounds off this powerful work with the Great Fugue, which was in fact originally intended to be the closing movement of the piece. Beethoven’s printer insisted on designating this work as a stand-alone work purely because it was so difficult to play.


Joseph Haydn: String quartet No. 5 in F major, the ”Serenade”, Op. 3
Alexander von Zemlinsky: Two movements for string quartet, 1927
Ludwig van Beethoven: String quartet in B flat major, Op. 130.
Ludwig van Beethoven: Great Fugue in B flat major, Op. 133.

Tickets: Band A €38/ B €33/ C €28; box seats €48
Children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9


  • Violin: Volkhard Steude
  • Vioin: Holger Groh
  • Viola: Elmar Landerer
  • Cello: Wolfgang Härtl