Musik & Theater

Jupiter meets Carmen
Breinschmid meets Turkovic / Concert by Moravia Virtuosi

* abgespielt

Under the baton of their chief conductor, the Brno-based Moravian virtuosos start their programme with a piece by Jan Václav Voříšek, a Bohemian contemporary of Schubert. This is followed by the world premiere of a fantasia on Carmen, which was written for the double bass by Tscho Theissing and composed especially for Georg Breinschmid, the hugely popular jazz bass player. Milan Turkovic conducts the main opus, Mozart’s “Jupiter” Symphony.


Jan Václav Vořišek (1791-1825)
Symphony in D major
Allegro con brio

Tscho Theissing (born 1959)
Carmen Fantasia for double bass and orchestra  (WORLD PREMIERE)

W.A. Mozart (1756-1791)
Symphony in C major, KV 551, the “Jupiter”
Allegro vivace
Andante cantabile
Minuet,  allegro
Molto allegro

Tickets: Band A €35/ B €30/ C €25; box seats €45
Children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9