Musik & Theater

Macao Orchestra Concert

* abgespielt

The Orchestra, which became a professional ensemble in 2008, is a gathering of top-flight musicians from all around the world. The arrival of Lü Jia as Musical Director and Principal Conductor marked a further turning point in the Macao Orchestra’s history. The orchestra regularly collaborates with numerous internationally renowned musicians, conductors and ensembles including Leonidas Kavakos, Iván Martín, Barry Douglas, Fou Ts’ong, Lang Lang, etc.

Lü Jia was the first Chinese conductor to lead the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and to record the complete works of the German composer Felix Mendelssohn. His symphonic performances – especially his interpretations of the German literature and the works of the French impressionists – have been praised as examples of “totally convincing musical interpretation” and “stirring musical language combined with conducting perfection”.

In Zhang Haochen we welcome a Chinese pianist who has already established a major reputation. He was the youngest and the first Chinese competitor to be awarded the coveted Nancy Lee and Perry R. Bass Gold Medal. Zhang gave his debut performance at the Shanghai Music Hall at the age of five. He made his orchestral debut at the age of six, and he was awarded first prize in the Shanghai Piano Competition when he was seven and again at the age of nine. He continued his musical studies at the Curtis Institute of Music in the United States. Zhang now a regular performer in the world’s most renowned concert halls.

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.3 in C minor, Op.37
Bruckner: Symphony No. 6 in A major, WAB 106

Tickets €36

  • Piano: Zhang Haochen
  • Conductor: Lü Jia