Musik & Theater

Musica Imperialis
Court music from Austria, Spain, England and Italy

* abgespielt

The Tonus Ensemble, which Nikolaus Harnoncourt has described as one of the most outstanding contemporary wind ensembles, appears here with four rising young vocal soloists. Together they embark on a musical journey back to earlier centuries into the world of the aristocracy. A selection of compositions by Purcell, Monteverdi, Cesti, Schmelzer, Handel and other marvellous musicians describe coronations, weddings and homages, as well as scandals and transient events. Period instruments and voices combine in a programme of fanfares, motets, arias, duets and dances!

Tickets: €25/20/15

  • Bass: Ulfried Staber
  • Mezzo-soprano: Sharon Carty
  • Soprano: Belinda Loukota
  • Ensemble Tonus
  • Tenor: Jan Petryka