Musik & Theater

Volkard Steude Volkhard Steude, Foto: Moritz Schell

MOVED ONLINE: Preuss-Niemeyer & Steude
Beethoven’s Violin Sonatas nos. 1 and 10

* abgespielt

We regret that, in line with Federal Government regulations, we cannot stage this production in front of a live audience. However, this event will now be streamed online instead.

Tickets already purchased will be refunded. You will be contacted and advised of the arrangements for reimbursement by MuTh or our ticketing partner WIEN-TICKET, as applicable.

Volkhard Steude and German pianist Almut Preuss-Niemeyer have enjoyed a lengthy collaboration in the field of chamber music. “This year we too want to perform a concert in honour of our beloved Beethoven, and let the power and energy of his musical language ring out around the concert hall”, explains the violinist.

Beethoven’s final violin sonata appeared in 1812. This is a wonderfully unpretentious piece of music and contains beautiful melodies. A critic of the time heard in it more “popular appeal, wit and humour” than had previously been evident in Beethoven’s violin sonatas. However, his first violin sonata, written in 1798, also has great charm! Constructed as a totally absorbing musical dialogue, its opening and closing movements offer an opportunity for tonight’s pianist to reveal her brilliance and virtuosity.

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Sonata for piano and violin no. 1 in D major, Op. 12
Sonata for piano and violin no. 10 in G major, Op. 96
Kurt Weill: Seven pieces from the Threepenny Opera
George Gershwin: Three Preludes
John Williams: Music from the film “Schindler’s List“
Fritz Kreisler: Viennese Rhapsodic Fan

Tickets: Band A €39/ B €35/ C €29; box seats €49; MuTh Student Club, children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Piano: Almut Preuss-Niemeyer
  • Violin: Volkhard Steude