Musik & Theater

Quo Vahid
Music meets Magic - Vahid Khadem-Missagh at MuTh

* abgespielt

Paganini fell out of favour … and how many parents since then have been tortured by the screeching sounds emanating from their budding geniuses’ little stringed instruments, sounds that seem to foretell of something far from pleasant! But to accuse him then of being in league with the devil – was that really necessary? With his new programme “QUO VAHID!”, Vahid Khadem-Missagh demonstrates that there is another way, a fun way. He has a delightful ability to blast away the conventional structure of a classical concert; he tells stories about the Staatsoper violinist and his hairdresser, of Mozart and his marbles, of the magician and his finger exercises, and much more besides … peppering his anecdotes with all kind of magical surprises. The musicians at his side are Viennese double bassist Georg Breinschmid, regarded as one of the finest exponents of his instrument, and the young prize-winning pianist Veronika Trisko. Together they promise a truly magical concert experience, full of fun and energy, where magic and music combine to tackle that enticing question, which holds its own answer within it: “QUO VAHID!” The programmes of music and magic at the Wiener Musikverein based on “Stradivahid”, the little violin, may well have started out as a well-guarded secret. But now they are in demand around the world; Vahid Khadem-Missagh’s “thrilling fable of virtuosity and magicianship” has been performed at the Salzburg Festival, in the University Mozarteum Salzburg, the Vienna Volkstheater, the Konzerthaus Klagenfurt, the Philharmonie Luxembourg, and at Jeunesse Österreich, as well as at numerous festivals. In his latest programme, virtuoso pieces of music take on a new guise, with amusing stories of musical life and magical comedy interludes.

Tickets: Band A €35/ B €30/ C €25; box seats 45 €,
Children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Double bass and acting: Georg Breinschmid
  • Violin and presentation: Vahid Khadem-Missagh
  • Piano: Veronika Trisko