Musik & Theater

The Bartolomeys at MuTh

* abgespielt

Trio for violin, cello and piano in B flat major, op. 99, D 898
Trio for violin, cello and piano in E flat, Op. 100, D 929

Franz Schubert composed both of his piano trios – two towering works in the piano / chamber music literature – towards the end of his life, in the months of November and December 1827. It was the first time Schubert had used the piano trio instrumentation, a format which Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven had already used to create timeless masterpieces. Although written so late in life, Schubert’s trios are free of the sombreness that so often clouds his last great quartets as well as his string quintet. Both pieces are full of melodic beauty, freshness and splendorous sound. Robert Schumann described Op.99 as “feminine and lyrical”, whereas he portrayed the E flat trio as “a raging, celestial phenomenon”. Schubert holds a special place in the artistic lives of the three musicians taking on these challenging works, namely husband and wife performers Benjamin Schmid and Ariane Hearing and Matthias Bartolomey.

Tickets: Band A €35/ B €30/ C €25; box seats 45 €,
Children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Piano: Ariane Hearing
  • Violin: Benjamin Schmid
  • Cello: Matthias Bartolomey