Musik & Theater

The Erlkings The Erlkings, Foto: Moritz Schell

MOVED ONLINE: The Erlkings: Schumann Album Release Concert
“Dichterliebe” (The Poet’s Love) and Schumann’s song cycle Op. 39, translated into the finest English and played with great virtuosity

* abgespielt

We regret that, in line with Federal Government regulations, we cannot stage this production in front of a live audience. However, this event will now be streamed online instead, on the scheduled date at 8 p.m.

Tickets already purchased will be refunded. You will be contacted and advised of the arrangements for reimbursement by MuTh or our ticketing partner WIEN-TICKET, as applicable.

“Anyone who loves songs on the radio is actually a fan of art songs!”, claim The Erlkings. The quartet, led by singer-songwriter Bryan Benner, perform Lieder from the time of the High Romantic in a style more reminiscent of folk music. They have opened the door to Schubert for many a listener. With their customary blend of musical refinement and humour, the four musicians present their latest album. It includes Robert Schumann’s song cycle Op. 39, settings of twelve poems by Joseph von Eichendorff, as well as his “Dichterliebe” (The Poet’s Love), the famous song cycle based on the poems of Heinrich Heine, all in new arrangements written for guitar, cello, tuba and either drums of vibraphone – and sung in English, of course.

Lieder by Robert Schumann

Tickets: Band A €39/ B €35/ C €29; box seats €49
MuTh Student Club, Children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Guitar & vocals: Bryan Benner
  • Cello: Ivan Turkalj
  • Tuba: Simon Teurezbacher
  • Percussion & vibraphone: Thomas Toppler