Musik & Theater

Vesna Pisarovic & Jazzpool NRW
Cantus 3

* abgespielt

For the last two years, Jazzpool NRW have been working on the concept of taking traditional songs from various European countries and developing them into contemporary jazz. In 2012/13, these musicians from the Rhine/Ruhr region worked with female singers from Poland and Portugal. They performed concerts not only in Germany, but also in Krakow and Danzig as well as Lisbon and Coimbra. Cantus 3, their latest project, is based on the Croatian and Yugoslav folkloric repertoire.
Vesna grew up with these songs; she learned them from her mother as a small child. This seven-piece line-up represents a superb synthesis of Vesna’s voice – powerful and mature, yet simultaneously lyrical – with the talents of these outstanding German musicians.

Vesna Pisarovic is both a singer and a composer, and is one of the best-known pop stars in her Croatian homeland. Her musical roots lie in punk rock and pop. Vesna’s album “With Suspicious Minds” represented her first steps into jazz and improvised music.
Frederik Köster is considered one of Germany’s finest trumpet players. He has worked with Albert Mangelsdorff and is currently playing in Trilok Gurtu’s band.
Wolfgang Schmidtke plays saxophone and provides the arrangements. He has worked with some of the most significant figures in the avant-garde, including Peter Brötzmann and Steve Lacy.
Philipp van Endert has long been one of the most sought-after guitarists on the German scene. He has toured and recorded with Kenny Wheeler and Rick Margitza.
Martin Sasse is undoubtedly best-known in Germany for his bebop piano, but his playing covers a much wider spectrum. He has played with Al Foster and Steve Grossman.
Matthias Akeo Nowak is a young, highly talented bassist, who has already attracted a lot of attention with his bands ‘Triosence’ and ‘Koi Trio’.
Peter Weiss is a respected veteran, known since the 70s for his collaborations with Wolfgang Engstfeld. He has also played with Randy Brecker and Charly Mariano.

  • bass: Matthias Akeo Nowak
  • guitar: Philipp van Endert
  • vocals: Vesna Pisarovi?
  • saxophone: Wolfgang Schmidtke
  • drums: Peter Weiss
  • keyboard, organ: Martin Sasse
  • trumpet: Frederik Köster