Musik & Theater

Christian Altenburger Christian Altenburger, Foto Moritz Schell

Wege der Romantik (Romantic byways)
Christian Altenburger in the MuTh

* abgespielt

After completing his String Quartet Opus 111, and having been strongly supported by Robert Schumann in his youth, Johannes Brahms really did not want to compose any more. Fortunately, we can thank his later acquaintance with the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld for his change of mind, and for the subsequent creation of one of the finest pieces of chamber music to feature the clarinet. Arnold Schönberg was a great admirer of Brahms. Just two years after the death of Brahms he composed his highly emotional string sextet “Verklärte Nacht” (Transfigured Night), inspired by Richard Dehmel’s poem of the same name.

Robert Schumann: Sonata for piano and violin in A minor, Op. 105
Johannes Brahms: Clarinet quintet in B minor, Op. 115.
Arnold Schönberg: String sextet “Verklärte Nacht” (Transfigured Night), Op. 4

Tickets: Band A €38/ B €33/ C €28; box seats €48; Children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9


  • Clarinet: Matthias Schorn
  • Violin: Christian Altenburger
  • Viola: Lydia Altenburger
  • Various: Selected students from the mdw