FR 03.
7:30 PM
Matthias Bartolomey


"A bestseller and a catchy melody“ | Matthias Bartolomey

Chamber music | Concert | Adults

Beethoven’s three Opus 1 piano trios, published in 1795, proved to be a “best seller”, and they covered his living expenses for a full year. In contrast, those who attended the premiere of his fourth cello sonata in 1815 found it rather irritating. It was said to be “impossible to comprehend at first hearing”.

In contrast, his Opus 11 trio was a really catchy piece of music (or “Gassenhauer”). Originally composed as a clarinet trio, Beethoven was quick to adapt the clarinet part for violin, thereby ensuring it reached a wider audience and gained greater popularity

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN: Klaviertrio in G-Dur op. 1/2, Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier Nr. 4 in C-Dur op. 102/1, Klaviertrio in B-Dur op. 11, „Gassenhauer“

Benjamin Schmid Violine
Matthias Bartolomey Violoncello
Ariane Haering Klavier
Ticket prices:
  • Kategorie A | 40,00 €
  • Kategorie B | 36,00 €
  • Kategorie C | 30,00 €
  • Loge | 50,00 €
  • Junges MuTh bis 26 Jahre
  • Kategorie A | 20,00 €
  • Kategorie B | 15,00 €
  • Kategorie C | 9,00 €
Included in the following subscription tickets:
Don't miss a thing

Subscribe to our newsletter now.

    We treat your data carefully.
    The privacy policy of the Vienna Boys' Choir applies
    Young MuTh

    for everyone under 26

    more infos
    Watch now