MO 15.
7:30 PM
Johannes Fleischmann


Being in love, from Beethoven to Schönberg | Johannes Fleischmann

Chamber music | Concert | Adults

“We want to enjoy love”, sing Pamina and Papageno during their duet in the Magic Flute. This sets the mood for the evening: for we also hear Beethoven’s variations on Mozart’s melody, variations which were written for cello and piano. A wealth of variety — in this case on the theme of love — can also be found in Shakespeare’s “Much Ado About Nothing“, a play for which Erich Wolfgang Korngold composed a musical accompaniment.

But we start with the 17-year old Dimitri Shostakovich rhapsodising about his first love, Tanja, in his Trio Op.8.  The evening closes with a work by Arnold Schönberg, at that time still in Late Romantic mode: his setting of Richard Dehmel’s “Verklärte Nacht” (Transfigured Night). In the poem, the female protagonist discovers what true love truly means: to be able to forgive!

DMITRI SCHOSTAKOWITSCH Trio für Violine, Violoncello, Klavier in c-Moll op. 8

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Sieben Variationen über „Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen“, aus Die Zauberflöte WoO 46

ERICH WOLFGANG KORNGOLD Vier Stücke aus der Musik zu Shakespeares „Viel Lärm um Nichts“ für Violine und Klavier op. 11

ARNOLD SCHÖNBERG „Verklärte Nacht“ op. 4 (Autorisierte Übertragung für Klavier, Violine und Violoncello von Eduard Steuermann)

Johannes Fleischmann Violine
Julius Berger Violoncello
José Gallardo Klavier
Ticket prices:
  • Kategorie A | 40,00 €
  • Kategorie B | 36,00 €
  • Kategorie C | 30,00 €
  • Loge | 50,00 €
  • Junges MuTh bis 26 Jahre
  • Kategorie A | 20,00 €
  • Kategorie B | 15,00 €
  • Kategorie C | 9,00 €
Included in the following subscription tickets:
    Don't miss a thing

    Subscribe to our newsletter now.

      We treat your data carefully.
      The privacy policy of the Vienna Boys' Choir applies
      Young MuTh

      for everyone under 26

      more infos
      Watch now