Musik & Theater
MuTh

190429_Cafe Drechsler_© Max Parovsky 190429_Cafe Drechsler_© Max Parovsky

Café Drechsler: And Now … Boogie!
Tenor saxophone: Ulrich Drechsler. Double bass: Oliver Steger. Percussion: Alex Deutsch

They’re back at MuTh, even more compelling and direct than ever: cult band Café Drechsler return with their jazz-flavoured album “And Now … Boogie”. Everything is stripped down to the bare essentials here. Genuine, intense music-making – the acoustic Café Drechsler trio at its purest.

Alex Deutsch, Oliver Steger and Ulrich Drechsler first developed their unique musical approach many years ago, a style that has just one aim – GET DANCING! Founded in 2000, the trio first came to public attention with their album “Café Drechsler” (2002) followed by “Radio Snacks” (2004). Their latest album is an irresistible mix of styles, including Trip-Hop, Breakbeat, Drum’n’Bass, Minimal & Detroit Techno.

Drawing inspiration from the best of today’s club music, both acoustic and electronic, the two-man rhythm section delivers a powerful pulse of relentless beats and sub-bass that is normally only heard in programmed electronic music. Meanwhile Drechsler’s saxophone continues to throw out all manner of sounds, rhythms and melodies in every direction. You don’t need anything else. Honestly!

Tickets: €30; students €15

  • Tenor saxophone: Ulrich Drechsler
  • Double bass: Oliver Steger
  • Percussion: Alex Deutsch

Musik & Theater
MuTh

190429_Cafe Drechsler_© Max Parovsky 190429_Cafe Drechsler_© Max Parovsky

Café Drechsler: And Now … Boogie!
Tenorsaxophon: Ulrich Drechsler, Kontrabass: Oliver Steger, Schlagzeug: Alex Deutsch

* abgespielt

Noch unwiderstehlicher, noch direkter: Die Kultband Café Drechsler ist wieder back in the MuTh, und zwar mit dem jazzigen Album „And Now … Boogie“. Hier ist Reduktion aufs Wesentliche angesagt, ehrlich, intensiv – das akustische Trio Café Drechsler pur!

Alex Deutsch, Oliver Steger und Ulrich Drechsler haben schon vor Jahren einen komplett eigenständigen Stil entwickelt, der nur ein Ziel kennt – TANZEN! Gegründet anno 2000, sorgte das Trio vor allem durch die Alben „Café Drechsler“ (2002) und „Radio Snacks“ (2004) für Aufhorchen. Auf dem aktuellen Album wird die unwiderstehliche Mischung aus
Trip-Hop, Breakbeat, Drum’n’Bass, Minimal & Detroit Techno und so viel mehr weitergemixt.

Inspiriert vom Besten, was die aktuelle akustische und elektronische Club-Musik zu bieten hat, liefert die zweiköpfige Rhythmusgruppe gnadenlose Beats und Subbässe und orientiert sich dabei unter anderem an dem, was man sonst nur aus der programmierten elektronischen Musik kennt. Und das Saxophon à la Drechsler versprüht wieder jede Menge Melodien, Rhythmen und Sounds. Mehr braucht es nicht. Echt nicht!

Karten: 30 €, Studierende 15 €

  • Tenorsaxophon: Ulrich Drechsler
  • Kontrabass: Oliver Steger
  • Schlagzeug: Alex Deutsch