Musik & Theater
MuTh

Carl Orff: Carmina Burana
Arranged for mixed choir, soloists, percussion, and two pianos

* abgespielt

Majestic, stirring, and impressive: “O Fortuna!” Who has not heard the famous, powerful opening chorus of Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana? In 1937, following the premiere performance at the Frankfurt Opera, Carl Orff wrote to his publisher: “All the music I have previously written – which, regrettably, you have published – you can now pulp. My collected works start with Carmina Burana.”

This major orchestral piece is presented here in the arrangement for two pianos and extended percussion. Wiener Kammerchor and the Youth Choir Academy Vienna perform alongside acclaimed soloists (Ursula Langmayr, Gernot Heinrich, Matthias Helm), the instrumental ensemble Supercussion, and the renowned piano due Johannes and Eduard Kutrowatz, together with the Wiener Chorschule Children’s Choir.

In 1937, following the premiere performance at the Frankfurt Opera, Carl Orff wrote to his publisher: “All the music I have previously written – which, regrettably, you have published – you can now pulp. My collected works start with Carmina Burana.”

Tickets: €49; box seats €79; Student Club, children and young people: €20

Musik & Theater
MuTh

Wiener Kammerchor, Foto: Armin Bardel

Carl Orff: Carmina Burana
für gemischten Chor, Solisten, Schlagwerk und 2 Klaviere

Imposant, eindrucksvoll, emotional: „O Fortuna“! Wer kennt nicht Carl Orffs berühmten mächtigen Eingangschor der Carmina Burana! „Alles, was ich bisher geschrieben und was Sie leider gedruckt haben, können Sie nun einstampfen! Mit Carmina Burana beginnen meine gesammelten Werke!“, schrieb Carl Orff 1937 in seiner ersten Begeisterung nach der Uraufführung in der Frankfurter Oper an seinen Verleger.

Der Wiener Kammerchor und die Jugendchorakademie Wien interpretieren gemeinsam mit namhaften Solisten (Ursula Langmayr, Gernot Heinrich, Matthias Helm) sowie dem Instrumentalensemble Supercussion und dem renommierten Klavierduo Johannes und Eduard Kutrowatz an der Seite des Kinderchores der Wiener Chorschule dieses große Orchesterwerk in der Fassung für zwei Klaviere und reichhaltigem Schlagwerk.

„Alles, was ich bisher geschrieben und was Sie leider gedruckt haben, können Sie nun einstampfen! Mit den Carmina Burana beginnen meine gesammelten Werke!“, schrieb Carl Orff 1937 in seiner ersten Begeisterung nach der Uraufführung in der Frankfurter Oper an seinen Verleger.

Karten: 49 €, Loge 79 €, Student Club, Kinder und Jugendliche 20 €

  • Wiener Kammerchor
  • Jugendchorakademie Wien
  • Kinderchor der Wiener Chorschule
  • Sopran: Ursula Langmayr
  • Tenor: Gernot Heinrich
  • Bariton: Matthias Helm
  • Supercussion Vienna
  • Klavierduo Kutrowatz
  • Leitung: Michael Grohotolsky