Musik & Theater
MuTh

America_c_Franziska Maderthaner America_c_Franziska Maderthaner

Franziska Maderthaner: About Men and Horses
Exhibition/ Modulart in the MuTh

As part of the ongoing successful collaboration between MuTh and the modulart gallery, two series of works created by contemporary artist Franziska Maderthaner can be viewed in the Foyer from 3rd October 2020 to 31st January 2021: “Playing Painter” – portraits of actors in the guise of famous painters – and “Questions on European Painting”. This confronts and challenges an established genre within classical European painting, namely the subject of the horse.

Franziska Maderthaner’s work is a form of “fluid meta-painting”. In her paintings, the artist interweaves the representational with abstract expressionism. Faces, animals, still lifes, objects and scenes from everyday culture — all spring forth out of Maderthaner’s loud colours and radical marks. The longer the viewer studies the works, the more they find that traditional pictorial meanings and viewing conventions begin to blur and merge.

The exhibition is curated by Joe Messner. The  modulart gallerist exhibits his artists’ works to reflect “that spirit of modernity and relevance to our times which is central to the DNA of MuTh”, explains Elke Hesse, Director of the MuTh.

Exhibition dates: 3rd October 2020 to 31st January 2021
Free admission. Exhibition open during MuTh opening times.

  • Painter: Franziska Maderthaner

Musik & Theater
MuTh

America_c_Franziska Maderthaner America_c_Franziska Maderthaner

Franziska Maderthaner: About Men and Horses
Ausstellung / Modulart in the MuTh

Im Rahmen der erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit des MuTh mit der Galerie modulart sind von 3. Oktober 2020 bis zum 31. Jänner 2021 im Foyer zwei Serien aus dem Schaffen der zeitgenössischen Künstlerin Franziska Maderthaner zu sehen: „Playing Painter“ – Portaits von Schauspielern, die berühmte Maler darstellen – sowie „ Questions on European Painting“. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Auseinandersetzung mit einem klassischen europäischen Malerei-Genre, dem Pferd.

Franziska Maderthaners Arbeit ist „Fluide Metamalerei“. In ihren Gemälden verwebt die Künstlerin Gegenständliches und abstrakt Expressionistisches. Aus Maderthaners Farbschüttungen und radikalen Malgesten entwinden sich Gesichter, Tiere, Stillleben und Objekte oder Szenen der Alltagskultur. Je länger man sie betrachtet, umso mehr beginnen tradierte Bildbedeutungen und Sehgewohnheiten zu schwingen – und zu fließen.

Kurator der Ausstellung ist Joe Messner. Der Galerist von modulart spiegelt mit den Arbeiten seiner Künstlerinnen und Künstlern jene Modernität und Aktualität wider, die auch die DNA des MuTh enthält, erklärt Elke Hesse, Direktorin des MuTh.

Dauer: 3. Oktober 2020 bis 31. Jänner 2021
Freier Eintritt, Ausstellung während der MuTh-Öffnungszeiten

  • Malerin: Franziska Maderthaner