Musik & Theater
MuTh

Minetti Quartett, Foto: Moritz Schell Minetti Quartett, Foto: Moritz Schell

Minetti Quartett: How do you do?
Masterpieces by Haydn, Schumann and Kurtág

The Minetti Quartet open this evening’s concert with a very deliberate choice: the Haydn string quartet commonly known by its nickname, “How do you do?” They ask this question in all sincerity, and then lead the MuTh audience on an exploration of the musical wit of the “father of the string quartet”. At the end of this journey back in time, there can only be one answer to his polite enquiry: “Very well, thank you!”
Somewhat bizarrely, Haydn places this question at the very beginning of the piece. Not only that, he presents it with the finality of a work’s closing notes! So it’s no surprise that thereafter anything seems possible: an operatic cavatina in the slow movement, a dizzying scherzo instead of the usual minuet, and an Italian folk dance in the finale.
It was over 200 years later that Kurtág wrote one of the most important string quartets of his day. No longer structured in four movements, this quartet contained fifteen, all of them linked as part of a whole. The brevity of the movements, the miniscule gestures and transitions pay homage to Anton Weber.
Another composer who paid his respects to his musical forebears was Robert Schumann. His three Op. 41 quartets, which were to remain his only compositions in this form, were only composed after an intensive study of the classics. His A major quartet fulfilled all the lofty ambitions he set himself: “Strive to achieve beautiful form and purity of phrasing, to create interrelationships, and to lend the melodic development an original character”. The temperament of this milestone in the string quartet literature is defined by Eusebius and Florestan, the personifications of melancholy and zest for life that were invented by Schumann and permeate his musical language.
Programme:
Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in G major, Op. 33 no. 5
György Kurtág: Officium breve Op. 28, in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky (1988/89)
Robert Schumann: String Quartet in A major, Op. 41 No. 3
Tickets: Band A €39/ B €35/ C €29; box seats €49; MuTh Club Students, children and young people: A €20 / B €15 / C €9

  • Violin: Maria Ehmer
  • Violin: Anna Knopp
  • Viola: Milan Milojicic
  • Celloa: Leonhard Roczek

Musik & Theater
MuTh

Minetti Quartett, Foto: Moritz Schell Minetti Quartett, Foto: Moritz Schell

Minetti Quartett: How do you do?
Meisterwerke von Haydn, Schumann und Kurtág

Die Mitglieder des Minetti Quartetts eröffnen diesen Konzert-Abend ganz bewusst mit jenem Haydn-Streichquartett, das den Beinamen „Wie geht es Dir?“ trägt. Die Frage, die der „Vater des Streichquartetts“ auf so witzige Weise musikalisch zum Ausdruck bringt, meinen sie ganz ehrlich – und nehmen das MuTh-Publikum mit auf eine Zeitreise, die nur eine Antwort zulässt: „Richtig gut, danke!“

Haydn stellt die besagte Frage verrückterweise gleich zu Beginn seines Werkes, und zwar in der musikalischen Form eines Schlussteils! Kein Wunder, dass danach alles möglich scheint: eine Opern-Cavatina im langsamen Satz, ein schwindelerregendes Scherzo anstatt des üblichen Menuetts, ein italienischer Volkstanz zum Finale.

Über 200 Jahre später schreibt Kurtág eines der wichtigsten Streichquartette seiner Zeit. Nicht mehr in vier, sondern in fünfzehn Sätzen, die alle miteinander verbunden sind. Die Kürze der Sätze, kleinste Gesten und Übergänge huldigen Anton Webern.

Auch Robert Schumann zollte seinen musikalischen Vorgängern großen Respekt. Die drei Streichquartette op. 41, die seine einzigen bleiben sollten, komponierte er erst nach unglaublich intensiven Studien der Klassiker. Sein A-Dur-Quartett erfüllt alle hohen Ansprüche, die er sich selbst setzte: „Streben nach schöner Form, Reinheit des Satzes, künstliche Verflechtungen, originelles Gepräge der melodischen Führung“. Eusebius und Florestan, die als Personifikationen von Melancholie und Lebenslust seine musikalische Sprache prägen, bestimmen den Charakter dieses Meilensteins der Streichquartett-Literatur.

Programm:
Joseph Haydn: Streichquartett in G-Dur op. 33/5
György Kurtág: Officium breve op. 28, in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky (1988/89)
Robert Schumann: Streichquartett in A-Dur op. 41/3

Kartenpreise: Kategorie A 39 € / B 35 € / C 29 €, Loge 49 €, MuTh Club Student, Kinder und Jugendliche: A 20 € / B 15 € / C 9 €

  • Violine: Maria Ehmer
  • Violine: Anna Knopp
  • Viola: Milan Milojicic
  • Violoncello: Leonhard Roczek