SA 30.
7:00 PM
Impulstanz, Lenio Kaklea


Sonatas and Interludes

Dance | Specials | Adults

In the 1940s, the musical revolutionary John Cage composed pieces for two African-American choreographers: Syvilla Fort (1917–1975) and Pearl Primus (1919–1994). And it was this that led Lenio Kaklea to create her own ‘duet with a pianist’. Cage’s Sonatas and Interludes represents a milestone in avant-garde music. It was written between 1946 and 1948, a few years after he had created Bacchanale, his first work for prepared piano, which was based on a piece by Fort. In 1943, he composed Our Spring Will Come for Primus’ choreography of the same name. This is the story Lenio Kaklea wants to remind us of today: ‘her story’ instead of ‘history’! Kaklea in insistent on this; and, to emphasise the point, the Greek-born choreographer has created a delicately textured, highly detailed solo/ duet. She dances herself – her movements casual at times, angular at others – while dressed in black motorcycle gear and in a red leotard. She uses video to enlarge her image, and incorporates the great pianist Orlando Bass and her own shadow into the performance. This is an attempt to correct historiography through dance – and it succeeds.

Austrian premiere

Organiser and ticket sales: impulstanz

If you want to watch this (YOUTUBE, VIMEO) Video, an element of personal data (your IP address) is sent to the operator of the video portal. It is possible, that the video provider stores you access in order to analyze your usage of this web page.

If you click the play button again, a cookie will be placed on your computer so that the web page knows that you have consented to view this embedded video in your browser. This cookie does not store any personal data, it only recognizes that a consent has been given for displaying the embedded video on your browser.

More details can be found in our data privacy statement

Ticket prices:
  • Kategorie A | 32,00 €
  • Kategorie B | 22,00 €
  • Kategorie C | 12,00 €
  • Kategorie D | 8,00 €
  • Ermäßigt
  • Kategorie A | 27,00 €
  • Kategorie B | 18,00 €
  • Kategorie C | 10,00 €
  • Kategorie D | 6,00 €
Don't miss a thing

Subscribe to our newsletter now.

    We treat your data carefully.
    The privacy policy of the Vienna Boys' Choir applies
    Young MuTh

    for everyone under 26

    more infos
    Watch now